Presidential Blogidential

Here it is, Presidents’ Day. So, in honor of our country’s leaders, I thought it might be fun to post some images from my trip to DC last year.

Having grown up in the United States, I have always been somewhat curious about what goes on in Washington, DC. But I never really thought much about going there. Seemed unreachable, like a place you just read about in history books, but not a place where a girl could actually go.
Well, surprisingly, it’s a great place to visit!

My husband and I were trying to figure out where to go on vacation last year. Somehow, we settled on DC. After we began making travel plans, I started getting excited about seeing our nation’s capitol, and venturing into our history. Not just the history of our great land, but my own history. I mean, this is where all the big decisions are made for America, and I couldn’t wait to wrap my mind around some of it.

Believe me, it cannot be done in one week.

Ain’t gonna happen.

Our Nation's Capitol

Seeing the White House, and the Capitol Building and all of the Smithsonian Museum buildings was great fun. I could finally put a true visual with all of these places that I had heard about my whole life.

Washington Memorial through the pillars at Lincoln Memorial

It was overwhelming to stand inside of the Lincoln Memorial at the base of this giant version of a man who I had admired, but never really saw as a real person. And suddenly, here he is.

Mr. Lincoln

OK, so maybe it’s not the real Abe Lincoln, but surely I felt as though he was more tangible, more within my own reality.

MUSEUM FUN!!

Air & Space Museum

We did hit a ton of museums in DC. It’s really impossible to visit them all in one week. At least, if you want to get anything out of the visit. Sure, you could probably walk through each one. But to really appreciate what you’re seeing, you have to dedicate more time.

We went to the Smithsonian’s Air & Space Museum, and I was lucky enough to be in the middle of a full-blown migraine. The throngs of screaming kids and neon lights certainly didn’t help my situation. But I was able to fire off a few good shots anyway, working through the pain.

Buzz Aldrin's NASA Spacesuit

I was able to capture a pretty neat view of Buzz Aldrin’s NASA Spacesuit. I was pleased with the way this turned out.

Considering I had my camera lens against the glass and was squished in between a bunch of people pushing and shoving, it looks pretty good. My favorite part of the image is the hint of an American flag in the background.

There was so much to see in this place, that it is really overwhelming. Migraine or not, this place will make your head spin.

Space Traveler

Aircraft

Another place that is totally worth catching is Madame Tussaud’s Wax Museum. Some of those figures look so amazingly true-to-life, that you don’t know if you’re standing in front of a real person or a dummy.

JFK

You can sit in the presidential balcony box with Abe Lincoln. My husband had to drag me into it, as he looked so real that it just freaked me out. But once I was ok with sitting next to a dead president, it was fun.

But seriously, they can be scary.

The Kennedy figure wasn’t as realistic as some of the other past leaders. But he was cool nonetheless.

Wax Abe

Wax Truman

Naturally, being in DC, there’s a plethora of presidents everywhere you go. But Tussaud’s has the best collection you’re gonna find anywhere.

Believe me, you don’t want to sit through the tons of photos from our trip to DC.

It’s kind of like when folks used to break out the slide show to show off their vacation pics to their friends and then wondered why those same friends never came back to visit.

But there are a few more pics to share. These from the subway are some of my favorites.

DC Subway

Archives-Navy Memorial-Penn Quarter

Leave a Reply

