I Heart Topaz, or, My Crush On A Software Plug-in

Let me start out by saying, in no way has Topaz Labs compensated me for what I am about to write. This is truly just me and my new-found love for one of their products.

So, yesterday I was messing around online and somehow came across a plug-in that works with my photo editing software, Paint Shop Pro X3. It’s called Topaz Adjust 4, and I downloaded the free 30-day trial for kicks. I figured I would see what it was all about, and the reviews were pretty awesome, so I thought I couldn’t really go wrong.

I got it installed, added it to the filter section of PSPX3,  put in the generating key and off I went. Let me tell ya, all it took was one image being altered, and I was all over it!

In fact, I decided in the first 30 seconds that I had to own this plug-in. No ifs, ands or buts, it would be mine. (I’ll get around to actually purchasing it soon, but right now I am too busy seeing all the fun stuff it does.) For now, until I get around to paying for the darn thing, let me show you some of the changes it has made to a few of my images.

The alterations you will see were done using only the factory presets. There are, like, 25 preset options. I have a few favorites already, but they are all great.

unaltered image

Fiat at Lucca, Italy car repair shop

Topaz Adjust 4 - Crisp Preset

Altered with Topaz Adjust 4 - Crisp Preset

unaltered image

Piazza della Repubblica - Firenze

altered with Topaz Adjust 4 Dramatic Preset

Altered with Topaz Adjust 4 - Dramatic Preset

unaltered image

Farmacia - Firenze

Altered with Topaz Adjust 4 - Dramatic Preset

Altered with Topaz Adjust 4 - Dramatic Preset

unaltered image

Chiesa di San Frediano - Lucca

Altered with Topaz Adjust 4 - Spicify Preset

Altered with Topaz Adjust 4 - Spicify Preset

The Spicify Preset option is by far, my favorite. I could use it on a lot of my images and enjoy them ten times more! But it wouldn’t be a fair representation of the product if I didn’t show some of the other options. I swear they didn’t pay me.

unaltered image

il Treno - Lucca

Altered with Topaz Adjust 4 - Psychedelic Preset

Altered with Topaz Adjust 4 - Psychedelic Preset

unaltered image

Siena - Toscana

Altered with Topaz Adjust 4 - Spicify Preset

Altered with Topaz Adjust 4 - Spicify Preset

unaltered image

Neptune - Firenze

Altered with Topaz Adjust 4 - HDR Sketch Preset

Altered with Topaz Adjust 4 - HDR Sketch Preset

unaltered image

Firenze - Boboli Giardini

Altered with Topaz Adjust 4 - Painting Venice Preset

Altered with Topaz Adjust 4 - Painting Venice Preset

unaltered text

San Gimignano

Altered with Topaz Adjust 4 - Spicify Preset

Altered with Topaz Adjust 4 - Spicify Preset

7 thoughts on “I Heart Topaz, or, My Crush On A Software Plug-in

  1. They look great, Tee. I’ll be checking out the Topaz Plug-ins soon. I looked at their site last night, but your pics are actually more interesting than what they show on their site. Thanks for the comparison before and after pics.

    Dad

Leave a Reply

