Firenze, Florence, Fiorentina

Palazzo Vecchio-Firenze

FirenzeListen, as far as I’m concerned, I could go to Florence once or twice a year for the rest of my life and never get tired of being there.

That’s not to say that I love the exhausting day-long trip, but it’s worth it when you see the beauty of the city. Plus, once you make that trip a few times it’s no big deal.

I don’t think I could ever see all there is to see in Florence, so it may take me a few lifetimes to get all the way through it. That’s just fine with me!

GALLERIA DEGLI UFFIZI

FirenzeThe Uffizi Gallery is one of those places that you really have to do over a few visits. It’s just too darn big to see everything in one visit. Believe me, I tried. It will wipe you out!

The Leonardo Da Vinci room was great. I loved to see his hand-written notes and illustrations. You may even have one of those out-of-body experiences, or feel like you’ve stepped back in time when you are viewing these treasures.

It’s hard to explain, but this is a man who had a profound influence on the entire world. In fact, he still makes an impact today. It’s hard not to feel overwhelmed. I know I was.

This is the place where I first fell completely in love with the paintings of Sandro Botticelli.Botticelli

The Uffizi has a room dedicated to his work. Well, maybe it’s not only his work, but my eyes didn’t see anything else. I was totally enthralled in the magnificence of his paintings.

At one point I was a little too close to one of them, searching its detail for brush strokes, and I set off the invisible alarm. OOPS! I turned around and found a security guard giving me the evil eye, so I maintained my distance from there on.

I could have stayed in there all day, but for the bus-load of Chinese tourists who flocked in and took over every space in the room. So I took off down the hall to the next artistic wonder.

Uffizi Gallery

Just outside of the gallery, you can see lots of statues of important Italian artists sculpted into the building. I love that! You can see Dante, Michelangelo and lots of others who have impacted the art world from way back.

And then you might see this:Uffizi Gallery, FlorenceI wish I could explain this, but I really cannot. Just disturbing. I hope this guy has since gotten a real job.

Circa Firenze

Florence is a great place because it’s big enough to be a city, but not as psycho as Rome is purported to be. I still haven’t been there, but I hear it is nutso crazy and filled with people. I have also been told that the Coliseo smells like cat pee. mmmmmmmmm…

Here are some shots from my first trip to Florence. I have since taken much cooler ones with better cameras, but for now:

FirenzeFirenzePalazzo Vecchio, FirenzeFirenzeFirenzeFirenzeFirenzeFirenzeFirenze

This pretty much covers my initial meeting with Tuscany. After this first trip, I went back many times and I have the photos and passport stamps to prove it.

What should I post next time? Any requests?

One thought on “Firenze, Florence, Fiorentina

  1. Beautiful! thanks for sharing! I haven’t made it to Florence yet, maybe next trip. I will be sure to check out the Uffizi.
    Since you asked, I’m always interested to hear about any adventures in Pistoia. My family is from Montecatini, Pescia, Chiodo, Uzzano, Torricchio, Borgo a Buggiano, all around there. But anything you want to share is great – I’m loving it 🙂

Leave a Reply

